you may say I'm a dreamer….

A Prayer for a Beautiful Girl

Image

A young sweet girl… could have been my daughter, or maybe a friend’s.  In her room, cozy, safe, surrounded by the things she loves. 

She had made some kind of prayer flag, fabric, hand painted, beaded, just beautiful.  She was wearing it for a headscarf.  

I heard faintly, the sweetest voice, singing. Like an angel… think Sarah McLachlan, “Beautiful Girl”, but a capella.

I remember a feeling of peace, but also sending out a little prayer to the universe to keep that beautiful girl safe.   

I woke before her door opened to the world of unknown hazards and danger.

I’ll keep this little song in my heart for the daughter I do not have.

beautiful girl photo found on Tumblr with no credits attached

Leave a Reply

