you may say I'm a dreamer….

lucky lion

So after watching 21 days of the Tour de France… I know, don’t ask, I can’t explain it.  Not that I even think about cycling all year round or even watch much sports on TV at all…. but the tour!  Is it those quaint French villages, the dedication of the incredible athletes, the quest for that crazy polkadot jersey, questions to Bobke that captures my heart?

thank you Graham Watson http://photos.grahamwatson.com/

Cadel Evans, the winner decked in yellow jersey, standing on a podium, handed yellow flowers and a stuffed yellow lion, flanked by beautiful girls in yellow dresses.  I am always attracted to these color mash ups.  None of the yellows quite the same but a spectrum and so not what IT’s about anyway.  BTW, I have a color obsession, if you didn’t know already.

Anyway, I just found it interesting that after seeing the winner with his little stuffed lion, I had a live lion in my dream.  I wasn’t on a bike, but I could have been in France.  It was the countryside, but not African nor anywhere you would expect to see a lion.  It was mostly a game of avoidance.  I would stand behind a tree and watch the lion walk by, then duck behind a hay bale and hope the lion didn’t see me, smell me, become aware of my heart beating too fast and too loudly.  I was scared but not panicked.  Perhaps it was a symbol of the bravery the riders represent or perhaps it was too much coffee during the waking hours.

I decided the lion was a lucky dream. Animals in dreams are normally power dreams, especially when you survive.  My lucky lion dream. Maybe I should take up bicycling.

Happy 10o Tour de France!!!!!!

One response

  1. You’re right – there was a lot of yellow on display during the Tour de France. I was so pleased an Aussie won. It was quite an achievement. i enjoyed the whole thing immensely!

    August 2, 2011 at 2:39 am

Leave a Reply

